Modernism A Guide to European Literature,1890-1930

ISBN-10: 0140138323
ISBN-13: 9780140138320
Authors: Malcolm Bradbury, James McFarlane
List price: $20.00

FREE return shipping at the end of the semester -

Out of stock


Author bio:

A professor of English literature and American studies who has published numerous critical works, Malcolm Bradbury is also a novelist whose protagonists are academics who make muddles of their personal and professional lives. He maintains that his main concern is to explore problems and dilemmas of liberalism and issues of moral responsibility. The targets of Bradbury's satires include intellectual pretension, cultural myopia, and official smugness. His protagonists are largely sympathetic, if comic, failures at mastering their own fates in a world of absurd rules and regulations. His major novels include Eating People Is Wrong (1959), Stepping Westward (1965), and The History Man (1975).…    


Customers also bought

Product details

Binding: Paperback Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group Number of pages: 688 Dimensions: 5.50" wide x 8.00" long x 1.25" tall Weight: 0.880 lbs. Language: English

Table of contents